#### **PROGRAMME**

# Subject: "Dispute Settlement and Protection of Consumer Rights in the Telecom and Broadcasting Sectors"

### Saturday, the 20<sup>th</sup> October, 2007 at Srinagar Venue : Sher-I -Kashmir International Convention Center

09.30 am to 10.00 am Registration of delegates

#### **INAUGURAL SESSION**

THACCORAL SESSION	
10.00 am to 10.10 am	Address by <b>Shri D.S. Mathur</b> , Secretary, Department of Telecommunications, Government of India
10.10 am to 10.20 am	Address by <b>Hon'ble Mr. Justice D.P.Wadhwa</b> , Former Judge of Supreme Court & former Chairperson, Telecom Disputes Settlement & Appellate Tribunal (TDSAT) on "Evolving dispute resolution scenario in telecom and broadcasting sectors"
10.20 am to 10.30 am	Address by <b>Hon'ble Mr Justice Aftab Alam</b> , Chief Justice, High Court of Jammu & Kashmir
10.30 am to 10.40 am	Inaugural Address by <b>Hon'ble Mr Justice D.K.Jain</b> , Judge, Supreme Court of India.
10.40 am to 10.50 am	Address by Hon'ble Mr. Justice Arun Kumar, Chairperson, Telecom

#### Tea Break

Disputes Settlement & Appellate Tribunal (TDSAT).

#### **SESSION-1**

## (Topic: Status of Dispute Settlement Mechanism in Telecom and Broadcasting Sectors in India)

- 11.05 am to 11.10 am Opening remarks and introduction of the panelists by Chairman of the session, **Mr Altaf Hussain Naik**, Advocate General, Jammu and Kashmir
- 11.10 am to 12.10 pm Presentations by: -
  - (i) Shri Manjul Bajpai, Advocate
  - (ii) Shri Jawahar Goel, President, Indian Broadcasting Foundation
  - (iii) Shri Kuldeep Goyal, CMD, BSNL.
  - (iv) Shri Manoj Kohli, President & CEO, Bharti Airtel.
  - (v) Shri Ashok Mansukhani, President, MSO Alliance, India.
- 12.10 pm to 12.50 pm Interactive Session between the panelists and the audience.

#### LUNCH

### (Topic: Consumer Rights under the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India Act, 1997 and Redressal of Consumer Grievances)

O1.35 pm to 01.40 pm Opening remarks and introduction of the panelists by Chairman of the Session, **Hon'ble Mr Justice G.D. Sharma**, President State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Jammu & Kashmir.

01.40 pm to 02.40 pm Presentations by: -

- (i) Ms. Indu Malhotra, Senior Advocate
- (ii) Shri A.Mohan, Executive Vice-President, Zee Network
- (iii) Shri Devender Rana, President, M/s Take One Television and Technologies Pvt. Ltd.
- (iv) Ms. Roop Sharma, President, Cable Operators Federation of India.
- (v) Shri T.R.Wadhwa, CGM, J&K Telecom Circle, BSNL

02.40 pm to 3.20 pm Interactive Session between panelists and the audience

#### Valedictory Session

- 03.25 pm to 03.35 pm Address by **Shri Vinod Vaish**, Former Member, Telecom Disputes Settlement & Appellate Tribunal (TDSAT).
- O3.35 pm to O3.45 pm Summing up of the proceedings and Valedictory Address by Lt.Gen. (Retd.) D.P.Sehgal, Former Member, Telecom Disputes Settlement & Appellate Tribunal (TDSAT).
- 3.45 p.m to 3.55 pm Vote of thanks by **Shri A.K. Agnihotri**, Registrar, TDSAT

**TEA**